Fantasy Football Good Luck Charm?

It’s fantasy football season. In my free time over the past few weeks I’ve slowly ramped up my research on NFL players and my strategies for the two main fantasy football leagues that I’m in. I won’t be giving away any tips or insights because that’s my business, not yours! See, I’m pretty serious about this stuff. Both of the leagues I’m in hold live drafts every year. If you’re not familiar with fantasy football, live drafts occur at one location as opposed to simply drafting online out of convenience.

I’ll be making my way to Latrobe, PA this Saturday (Aug 5) for the McNeil Fantasy Football League draft, a yearly event that typically includes wiffleball, booze, Dino’s chicken wings, electric dog collars, booze, slap-bets and loose women. Just kidding, that last one isn’t true. I see some of the people in this league once a year, others I see a few times a year, it’s a nice weekend to catch-up, have a blast and download more memories into my brain that I’ll remember for a long time.

This league is an auction-style draft so it’s important to be there, right in the heart of the action. If you haven’t been involved in an auction-style league before I highly recommend it, it’s pretty damn fun. I’ll use one of my future Father University posts as a ‘Draft Recap’ with analysis of my picks. Some readers may not like that article, but I’m in charge so I’ll do what I want. Maybe I’ll get Jacqui involved in the analysis somehow who knows.

Speaking of Jacqui (pictured below, one year ago, checking out one of the fantasy mags I typically buy for research. Right after I snapped this picture, she tore LeVeon Bell’s photo right off the page), my fantasy footballing has sucked ever since her birth in November of 2013. Not sure why, I’m going to chalk it up to my life changing immensely and things were uneven. I’ve never liked odd numbers, so I think having three people in our family subconsciously messed with my decision making when it came to fantasy football. Does that sound weird? Yes it does, but that’s what I’m going with.

FB_IMG_1501509354581

Now that Jules (pictured below with sweet good luck charm headband) has come into this world, we’ve got four people in our family so everything is good with the world. No odd numbers to mess with my head. I truly believe she’s going to be my fantasy football good luck charm this year and moving forward. We’ll let the season play out and see if it fixed the fantasy mediocrity I’ve churned out over the past 3+ years. If it doesn’t fix the issue, then I just suck at fantasy football, I’ll be okay with admitting that.

jules good luck

I love you Jules, let’s bring home some fantasy football championships to our happy, even-numbered family for years to come.

Until next time. PEACE.

Leave a Reply

