Friendship, Indiana

The wife and I strapped in the girls and headed west to Friendship, Indiana last Friday morning for our annual June camping trip. My in-laws have a campsite on the National Muzzle Loading Rifle Association (NMLRA) grounds in Friendship and we typically go out every year during their Spring shoot. The campground gets packed full of campers and shooters and there is a huge market/fair type deal that goes on as well. It’s a pretty cool experience, even if you don’t shoot and go for the camping and other activities.

My father-in-law Jim is a former NMLRA president. I snapped a photo (below) from the education building of the past presidents and I can say that I never knew Jim when he was only rocking a mustachio. Let’s just say that I’m glad he’s got a full beard now.

One thing I didn’t do this year is throw the tomahawk that my mother-in-law got me for my birthday last year. I threw tomahawk for the first time last year when we were at Friendship and did rather well, but was turned off by the heat and humidity this year… Well, and due to the fact that I just wanted to be a lazy ass while I was out there. Anyways, we may go out in September during the Fall shoot, maybe I’ll throw it then.

Weather update: The weather app on my phone is still set to Friendship, IN – The “real feel” this moment is 97 degrees. Gross. Swamp ass city.

I loved watching Jacqui play and interact with her cousins, Luke and Ben, during our trip. Lucas is a little older (8) and Ben is around the same age as her. It’s nice that they get along so well considering they don’t see each other very often. Who knows, maybe we’ll move back to Pennsylvania in the next few years and she can see them a lot more? Jules couldn’t say it, but I could tell she absolutely hated the hot weather. She spent most of the daytime in just her diaper, got a little heat rash and fed a lot because she was sweating more than usual. I think she and Jacqui both have the Bova sweat gene in them so that’s fun!

Anyways, the wife and I splurged and just bought two brand-new cots so we could stop sleeping on the ground while we camped. I slept great on this trip because of that cot and I’ll be honest, the cots are in the running for the Barnard Family 2017 Purchase of the Year Award. They’re XXL cots, so they’re big enough to hold my large ass and also large enough to hold my wife and both daughters if needed. SCORE!

PicMonkey Collage

Well, off to tend to the girls before work tonight. I may try to get another post in on Thursday or Friday. I’d like to get Jacqui’s complete thoughts and answer any questions she has about the original Lion King movie. We watched it this morning, worked on the letter ‘C’, now she’s watching it again. She’s very confused as to where Kion is. If you don’t know who Kion is, I suggest you watch Lion Guard, that’ll catch you up pretty damn quick.

Until next time. PEACE.

Leave a Reply

